Is it wrong to wish for your team not to make the playoffs?

I am not feeling it.  Really.

Is it wrong for a diehard fan to wish the team not to make the playoffs?  I know some people would say that making the playoffs will convince Bosh to stay in Toronto.  Maybe Bosh could see that his team made the playoffs without him, and that’s not that bad right?

I feel bad that I am not more excited about this playoff race, mainly because the Raptors have played so poorly in the recent weeks, that we will probably lose by 20 in 4 straight game even if we made the playoffs.  Is that something Chris Bosh that would convince Chris Bosh to stay?  Hardly.

Maybe, I am realist, or maybe the Raptors have just beaten me down.  It’s one thing if we are playing well to get to 8th spot, it’s another to fall into 8th spot playing like crap.

Make no mistake, this team is crap.  Defense was an issue at Day 1 in training camp, and still an issue today.  If anything, it has gotten worse, a lot worse.  Players supposed to play with energy came out with none in the biggest game of the year on Sunday.  The Head-Coach actually told the media that he thought the team gave a good effort, that’s nothing new, he said the same thing when the Raptors lose by 26 points at home vs Utah.  And with Bosh likely out for the first round playoffs, the beating will be horrible to watch.   I really don’t want to watch it and playing against the Cavs would mean prime time television in the US and watching the Cavs embarrass the Raptors with millions of people watching.  Not exactly a proud moment for the franchise.
After watching so many uninspiring basketball games, I just wished the season is ending right now and we can move on with our lives.  My friend who shared season tickets with me emailed me yesterday and told me he’s done with the team.  This is a guy who’s as big a fan as me and bought season tickets in the worst of times, and just had it with the Raptors.  To him, they just quit.  I can’t argue with that.  In fact, I am not going to renew the season tickets for next season.  I have had it too.

I am still a fan, just not a paying customer anymore; like a bad relationship, I need time and space to refresh.  So for the love of God, please let the Raptor season end on Wednesday night.

Tags:

8 Responses to “Is it wrong to wish for your team not to make the playoffs?”

  1. Toronto Raptors Morning Coffee April 14 | Slam Dunking Says:

    [...] New Leisure Blog Make no mistake, this team is crap.  Defense was an issue at Day 1 in training camp, and still an issue today.  If anything, it has gotten worse, a lot worse.  Players supposed to play with energy came out with none in the biggest game of the year on Sunday.  The Head-Coach actually told the media that he thought the team gave a good effort, that’s nothing new, he said the same thing when the Raptors lose by 26 points at home vs Utah.  And with Bosh likely out for the first round playoffs, the beating will be horrible to watch.   I really don’t want to watch it and playing against the Cavs would mean prime time television in the US and watching the Cavs embarrass the Raptors with millions of people watching.  Not exactly a proud moment for the franchise. After watching so many uninspiring basketball games, I just wished the season is ending right now and we can move on with our lives.  My friend who shared season tickets with me emailed me yesterday and told me he’s done with the team.  This is a guy who’s as big a fan as me and bought season tickets in the worst of times, and just had it with the Raptors.  To him, they just quit.  I can’t argue with that.  In fact, I am not going to renew the season tickets for next season.  I have had it too. [...]

  2. You Got it Says:

    ‘In fact, I am not going to renew the season tickets for next season. I have had it too.’

    ahh the life of the fair weather fan. How nice it is to be a supporter when the team is doing well and claim ‘I’ve been a fan forever, through thick and thin, this is my team!’. But when things aren’t good wash their hands of them. How morally justified they can be, simply by saying ‘I’ve had enough’… as if you put so much of your heart and soul behind a team by spending a few dollars on tickets, hotdogs and a Chris Bosh jersey.

    As a true fan, that is one that while disappointed and disturbed by a poor season has full intentions of watching them next year, routing for success and waiting patiently for that next successful season, I say good riddance. I don’t want others confusing your pathetic display of fanship and sportsmanship with true fans in Toronto.

    • pchu1234 Says:

      I have been a season ticket holder for over 10 years, so no I am not a fair weather fan as you suggested. A fair weather fan wouldn’t spend thousands of dollars watching a team that have sucked in most years. A fair weather fan wouldn’t have stuck around the Kevin O’Neil years and the early Rob Babcock debacle. And I am not saying I won’t watch the Raptors next season, nor abandon them as a fan, I am just saying that I am done spending money on this team. This is my message to MLSE.

      It’s fans like you, that makes the city not having a good team to support. By blindly supporting these mediocrity and buying their merchandise even if they have done nothing to warrant this. Why would any organization make an effort to improve if they don’t take a financial hit?

      So before you trash me or others like me (believe me, there are lots of people who’s sick of this shit), think it through and get it through your brain (if you have one) that most people who buy season tickets year after year do it because they love the team and if they have had it, that’s not the fan’s fault.

  3. Dan Says:

    I think it’s all about effort and desire to compete. Raptors simply don’t have that — except for a few players. You really have a feeling that most of the players already booked their flights for their summer vacations and they don’t want to be bothered with playing another 4-5 games. Again, some of them do.

    On top of this attitude add incompetent coach who is ignored by his players and disaster is inevitable. And, that’s why people are pissed, they see that Turkoglu can take 19 rebounds if needed, Bargnani can score 33, Jose can have 10 assists per game — but they simply don’t want put that kind of effort every game they play. It’s not about losing it’s about how you lose — fighting or folding.

  4. You Got it Says:

    First off I’m not so diluted as to think my minor dollars (or yours for that matter… in comparison to the Raps total total revenue) that I have put indirectly/directly towards the Raptors organization (or affiliates) actually serves to influence the team financially.

    I’m not so diluted as to think that screaming and crying about how much I dislike the team, players, structure etc. actually influence the decision of those in control. They are more basketball and business savy than you or I, they know it…. and just because BC answers a few tweets or emails doesn’t mean that the fans even remotely have his ear.

    ‘Supporting mediocrity’ is such a buzz word for the fair weather fan. Claiming thats what real fans are doing… and its their fault this year (or any year) turned out poorly. Please, the total of $0 I put into the Raps this year (thats right, nothing, not a dime… although admittedly that is rare as I tend to try to catch a couple games every year) supported nothing financially. Yet here I am still disappointed by this year, and anxious to see what happens next year and the one after that. I don’t expect this team (or any team) to be good any year or every year. There will be years of drought and years of bounty. Unexpectantly good seasons and unexpectantly bad seasons. But I will, as always watch them, cheer, boo, shake my head in disappointment and jump with excitement. But you won’t ever catch me saying ‘I’ve had it’.

    “A fair weather fan wouldn’t spend thousands of dollars watching a team that have sucked in most years. A fair weather fan wouldn’t have stuck around the Kevin O’Neil years and the early Rob Babcock debacle.”

    no… fair weather fans disappear when they get frustrated and then reappear when the next big thing hits town. And when that happens I know exactly who will be back on the bus, spending money, and blogging about how great the team is, how they have supported their team through thick and thin forgetting about how they ever wrote a posted about giving up on their team. Claiming how they were in on the ground floor when things got started always toughing it out.

    And people like me, who some how ‘support medicocrity’ by not bitching about everything that we have little or no control over and really should have little influence on the goings on of every day life, will laugh and say welcome back, your seat is at the back…. and will laugh again the next time your the first to jump out the emergency exit when times get to tough for you to handle.

    You may not have been a fair weather fan for the past decade…. but you sure as hell just became one. Just remember…. your seat is at the back.

    • pchu1234 Says:

      “First off I’m not so diluted as to think my minor dollars (or yours for that matter… in comparison to the Raps total total revenue) that I have put indirectly/directly towards the Raptors organization (or affiliates) actually serves to influence the team financially.”

      No. I don’t expect my financial contribution will influence the team, but if the number of season ticket holders start to drastically decline, it will be a message to MLSE that they are doing something wrong.

      “I’m not so diluted as to think that screaming and crying about how much I dislike the team, players, structure etc. actually influence the decision of those in control. They are more basketball and business savy than you or I, they know it…. and just because BC answers a few tweets or emails doesn’t mean that the fans even remotely have his ear.”

      No, I never said that I knew more about basketball than Colangelo or Jay Triano. But even a blind man could see what’s wrong with the team. I complain and bitch about this because I care about the team. I wouldn’t waste my time if I don’t care about the team. And no I don’t expect BC to respond or even care, but I do want to express my opinion.

      “‘Supporting mediocrity’ is such a buzz word for the fair weather fan. Claiming thats what real fans are doing… and its their fault this year (or any year) turned out poorly. Please, the total of $0 I put into the Raps this year (thats right, nothing, not a dime… although admittedly that is rare as I tend to try to catch a couple games every year) supported nothing financially. Yet here I am still disappointed by this year, and anxious to see what happens next year and the one after that. I don’t expect this team (or any team) to be good any year or every year. There will be years of drought and years of bounty. Unexpectantly good seasons and unexpectantly bad seasons. But I will, as always watch them, cheer, boo, shake my head in disappointment and jump with excitement. But you won’t ever catch me saying ‘I’ve had it’.”

      Ok so I thought you are a season ticket holder like myself. And yet, you criticize me for stop spending money on the team. I have said in my post, that I will continue to support them but just not financially. Does that make me a fair weather fan? Well, basically I am just on the same boat as you.
      Let me put it this way, I have been a fan of this team since inception. I followed the team through thick and thin. Once I started working and have enough money, I started to become a season ticket holder. I have gone through all the highs and lows but I just couldn’t put thousands of dollars into this anymore, I can’t justify it.

      “no… fair weather fans disappear when they get frustrated and then reappear when the next big thing hits town. And when that happens I know exactly who will be back on the bus, spending money, and blogging about how great the team is, how they have supported their team through thick and thin forgetting about how they ever wrote a posted about giving up on their team. Claiming how they were in on the ground floor when things got started always toughing it out.”

      And I didn’t disappear, I was there every step of the way. Where were you?

      “And people like me, who some how ’support medicocrity’ by not bitching about everything that we have little or no control over and really should have little influence on the goings on of every day life, will laugh and say welcome back, your seat is at the back…. and will laugh again the next time your the first to jump out the emergency exit when times get to tough for you to handle.”

      If you don’t want to bitch when the team sucks, good for you. I do bitch when the team sucks, but that’s my choice. And it’s not like I stopped watching them on TV or something.

      “You may not have been a fair weather fan for the past decade…. but you sure as hell just became one. Just remember…. your seat is at the back.”

      I am not even sure how to respond to this. So if I stopped supporting them financially, I become a fair weather fan? So wouldn’t that be the same as you? I will say this one more time, I will continue supporting this team, the Toronto Raptors is still my team, but I am not spending money on it anymore.

  5. PC Says:

    Ignore it.
    I’m in the same boat as you.
    i bleed the raps. i have for 15 years.
    i have pretty sweet tix (section 309, row 8, dead centre)
    have had them for 10+ years.

    sitting through yet another rebuild isn’t just investing in next year, but another 4-5 years.
    renewing next year means you’re probably committing to a few more, and that’s a lot of time and $$$.
    and i don’t know if ‘good seats’ is enough of a good reason to invest anymore.
    good product yes, but good seats, i’ve been telling myself every year that it’s worth it and it hasn’t been.

    having said all that, i too am quite unsure on whether i’m going to re-invest (in the process of trying to add more people to make the payments less large – i share with one other person)

    But whether i renew or not won’t change my die-hardness for this team.
    it’ll just mean i’m not paying for it

    • pchu1234 Says:

      My seat is at section 308 row 4, very sweet seats. Can’t complain about that. I was actually contemplating after last season on doing this. But I gave them one more chance, I thought Colangelo knew what’s at stake and he would make this team a lot better, and it didn’t work.

      I don’t want to spend money on things I don’t enjoy. I don’t want to see my team getting trounced almost every game. I want to spend money to have fun, to enjoy; I have enough stress in my life that I don’t need to spend money to add to it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

